About Us



Governance: Established in 1979, Rutland County Solid Waste District is a union municipal district that exists to cooperatively and comprehensively address the solid waste management interests of its member towns. The District is governed by a Board of Supervisors representing the communities from the 18 member towns with a population of 47,751 in Rutland County.

Mission: Our mission is to reduce reliance on landfills through waste reduction, reuse, and recycling programs. To accomplish this, the District works closely with member-towns, schools, businesses, and institutions to provide technical assistance, education, and tools designed to reduce waste and capture valuable resources through recycling, donating and composting.

Vision: To reduce waste in a sustainable and economical matter by giving our residents and businesses the means of recycling electronic waste, food scrap collection, household hazardous waste disposal and much more.

Member TownsBrandon, Castleton, Clarendon, Danby, Hubbardton, Ira, Killington,  Mendon, Mt. Holly, Mt. Tabor, Pittsfield, Pittsford, Poultney, Proctor, Rutland City, Wallingford,  Wells, West Rutland