Established in 1979, Rutland County Solid Waste District is a union municipal district that exists to cooperatively and comprehensively address the solid waste management interests of its member towns. The District is governed by a Board of Supervisors representing the communities from the 18 member towns with a population of 47,751 in Rutland County.