Through providing education, material collection and disposal services, RCSWD strives to make it easy for residents to dispose of unwanted items in the most fiscally and environmentally responsible manner. Call (802) 775-7209 with any disposal questions!


Rutland County Solid Waste District is a union municipal district that was formed in 1979 to promote the proper management of solid waste within the towns of Rutland County.  We educate and strive to reduce waste in a sustainable and economical matter by giving our residents and businesses the option of recycling, electronic waste, food scrap collection and much more.

Meet our team


Check out our Events Calendar to hear about special disposal events and workshops! UPCOMING: America Recycles Day, Nov 15


The Rutland County Solid Waste District provides waste disposal services to its 17 member communities. These communities include Brandon, Castleton, Clarendon, Danby, Hubbardton, Ira, Killington, Mendon, Mount Tabor, Mount Holly, Pittsford, Poultney, Proctor, Rutland City, Wallingford, Wells & West Rutland.

We also operate the Regional Transfer Station on Gleason Road. Feel free to call us regarding any disposal information!

Transfer Stations


Search for how to dispose of almost any material by clicking this link!


December 10, 2018
Merry Mulch- Bring us your Christmas trees for free!

Recycle your clean Christmas trees for FREE! Through the second week of January (Saturday, Jan 12), you can bring your Christmas trees to the Gleason Road Transfer Station for free during regular hours- Mon-Sat 7am-3pm. Trees must be real, clean of any tinsel, ornaments and fake snow, and removed from plastic or metal stands. Any […]...

December 3, 2018
Food Donation Tax Incentives

Tax Deductions for Food DonationNow is a great time to donate food- not only so everyone can eat well for the holidays, but also to claim a tax deduction on your personal or business income tax from 2018! Any charitable contribution to eligible organizations (non-profits, churches, educational institutions and other charity organizations) can reward a […]...

November 19, 2018
Permit Renewal Time!

Permit Renewal Time!Residents, haulers, and businesses that use the Rutland Regional Transfer Station at 14 Gleason Road should purchase or renew permits for 2019 to save money on disposal costs, and to access additional services. For a current price list comparing rates with and without permits, visit the Gleason Road Transfer Station page.Permit prices are […]...


Did you know that you can recycle batteries at drop-off locations around Vermont?  Not just AA or AAA, we're talking lithium, lead acid, alkaline, nickel zinc, nickel cadmium and even more.  They are accepted Monday through Saturday 7-3 at the Transfer Station on Gleason Road through Barry Sadowski at the HHW Center. Click here to find stores near you that accept batteries if you can't make it to the Transfer Station.

Check us out on Instagram to see what we've been up to!!